Gathering of Nations Pow-Wow 2016, Albuquerque, NM

Hello my blogging friends!  I took a week off after the Gathering of Nations Pow Wow in Albuquerque, NM to catch up with my Life Book 2016 lessons, but now I’m back.  First off:

Gathering of Nations

This event is a Federally recognized non-profit organization to promote Native American culture.  I didn’t know what to expect, but I was thoroughly in awe of all the beautifully intricately beaded garments and accessories.

For more information about this event you can go here:  Gathering of Nations.  There were dancers and singers representing more than 500 tribes in North America and Canada.  It is a three-day event, but we only went on Saturday and part of Sunday.

Here are some pictures I took of people walking around the stadium.  I asked permission to take their picture, of course.

These beauties were from  Minnesota

20160429_111705

20160429_120905

This young girl was on her way to the main floor to dance in the young girls competition.

20160429_122243

20160430_131328

Look at the beading work on these moccasins.  They were completely hand beaded.  Just beautiful!

 

Mexico was represented also.  Look at the long feathers!!

20160430_132425

I had many more pictures, but somehow they are lost in my file system.

Well, you get the idea.  If you want to see more pictures. you can always go the link above.

Thanks for stopping by

Carmen

2 thoughts on “Gathering of Nations Pow-Wow 2016, Albuquerque, NM

    1. Yes it was Laura. I found more pictures after I posted. I had some cute ones of kids. They were so cute!! Perhaps I’ll go back and add some more!! I was working on my LB 2016, but again, I can’t find the pictures I took of the girls. Will take them over again and post tomorrow.

Leave a comment