Two Cards and Two Inking Techniques

Hello, my stamping friends.  Today I want to share a technique I learned at Club Scrap hop to introduce their new stamp kit Dahlias.

I made two cards to enter into the Unity Stamp sketch challenge, but I missed the deadline.

March31-April7

Card Number One

20160407_110638

 I went ahead and shared it with the group and I had someone ask how I did the inking on this card.

First, I stamped the flower from the Everything Joyful & Beautiful kit on specialty paper, but you can use any nice card stock available. I used Ranger Archival Ink.   I then created a rectangular mask using  low tac masking paper.  I used the grid on my cutting pad to align the rectangle so it would come out perfectly centered on the paper.  Then, using four different colors of distress ink and a sponge, I dabbed the colors making sure the paper stayed in place.

Once you remove the masking paper, you are left with a beautiful frame. Then I stamped the sentiment and the three hearts that came in the kit.  I then stamped the three hearts on white cardstock and used the same inks and used a circle punch.

I matted it with violet card stock and popped it up on top as well as the three circles to follow the sketch.

Next time, I’ll take pictures as I go along.

Card Number Two

This card was also inspired by the Dahlias post at Club Scrap.

They showed cased a card stamped with white ink on black cardstock.  It is not exactly the same because I added hearts instead of buttons.

I used  the Remembering You blooms kit  using only the flower which I stamped several times with Dew Drop Brilliance fast-drying pigment ink in Platinum Planet, and added some silver drops and a butterfly punched out of patterned paper.  The layered hearts are from my stash.

20160407_110713

I hope you enjoyed the tutorial and the links for more information.  Stay tuned or the next challenge!

Thanks for stopping by!

Carmen

3 thoughts on “Two Cards and Two Inking Techniques

    1. Thanks, Julie! I appreciate your comment. I love your techniques and I’m looking forward to making more cards with some Club Scrap stamps I ordered, but never used.

      Hugs,
      Carmen L

Leave a comment